Waiting game, a couple of comments and questions...

Hi all,

I’m TJ and I am a newbie (now there’s a revelation!).  In any case I am playing the waiting game and have waded through some/most of the forum posts in addition to the FAQ and Newbie guide.  I have a couple of comments and/or sugestions if anyone may be interested.

1. Newbie quiz: In a word, YES (If you have not implemented this yet, I will be happy to post my answers in a reply—both real and funny).  After playing other, similar, but far less complicated games…this should be a mandatory entrance criteria.

2.  WOW, what an FAQ and Newbie guide (kudos), very detailed and thorough…I could see how this might be considered daunting to some, but to those who have played other “similar” games this is GREATLY appreciated.  I would say you’d have to be an idiot to not read this as a newbie, but I have seen this demonstrated elsewhere ad nauseum.

There were a couple of comments in the forum by Brenda in the Newbie questionare post, that I particularly liked:

a: “Maybe there can be a “pretend” stable that the Newbie has to do things in.”

This would really help “see” the functions of the game.  I don’t think you even need to make a fake stable per se, so long as you could show me exmaples (e.g. screenshots, example sheets, or detailed explanations with calculations as in the OUTSTANDING claiming guide).  I don’t think this is critical so much as an extension of the completness of the guide.

b: “Mentoring”
Oh, my----ABSOFREAKINGLUTELY!, as was mentioned in that thread there are many things to be done in this game that are subjective and that would really help steer me/others in a “better” direction sooner rather than later, adding to our enjoyment of the game.