New Arrivals

This is my first time doing this so I hope its not too terrible

The sun 

seemed take its time rising that morning as Jade waited impatiently at the farm entrance

aboard her favorite riding horse retired champion Dark Secret. Dark tossed his beautiful

black head, looked yearningly at the training track before craning his neck to look up at her

as if to ask, “WHY are we still here? I have two year olds to train!”

"Yes, yes,

Dark I know, but the haulers are late with my new horses and I want to be the first to yell

at them when they arrive. Besides, you’ve done a great job with your

babies and one workout without you won’t kill them," she said.

“At least I hope not,” Jade added in her head as she looked doubtfully at their goofy antics

on the track.

Looking back down the road she noticed a slight glint of metal

and caught her breath with excitement as she realized her new horses were almost home! They

had been due in at midnight and now at six in the morning they were finally here! Urging Dark

into a swift canter she met the driver of the truck with a frown and directed him to the

training barn.

Once there she dismounted from Dark and handed the riens to a

nearby groom. Then she stood to the side as the farm manager Dane lowered the ramp of the

large horse trailer and began giving orders to the grooms.

The first horse out was

her prize of the entire auction; Moonshine II. She was a graceful filly with fine lineage

and as she reached the top of the ramp the glossy chestnut stopped, raised her fine head and

sniffed the air as she surveyed her surroundings. Seemingly content with the sharp pine

scent and lush grass of her new Washington State home she allowed the groom to lead her down

the ramp and into the training barn among the many “ooohs” and “ahhs” of the staff.

“That one there is a beauty,” Dane commented. "Even if she doesn’t do well at the