I just need an older player's point of view...

Ok I am new to this game and am still trying to get the hang of it- think I’m doing ok as it is.

My question (and it has been on my mind for a while) is that I have a 5 yr old stallion that I don’t know what to do with, Diligent Trick.  I guess considering I’m posting in the stallion section, my question will lean to that.  I’m just confused as to being able to retire him, if I decide to do that.

He was my second horse in the game, purchased and then sent to my farm for a bit of rest.  Thing is, he is 5 yrs old.  Recently raced him and he finished 4th of 6.  It lists him as placed, he has never won a stakes- tho I don’t think he has run in at all, so I may work on him and point to at least one to see how he fares.  Not sure.

I have read the stallion qualification and know that the stallion has to have at least 5 stakes wins before you can retire him to stud. 

I don’t know- I can’t sell him yet, as I am still new and it says that I have to wait another 2 races.

Guess I’m just asking an older player as to what they would do…even if I do race him 2 more races, I wouldn’t be able to sell him as a stallion prospect…

Thanks for helping :slight_smile:

Actually a stallion needs to have 10 stakes wins, including at least one G1 stakes win to be retired to stud. So your correct and it’s highly unlikely he’ll ever be a stud prospect. From looking at his race record I would guess he’s probably already reached his peak. You could try and sell him but you’ll make little if any profit as most people don’t want an older horse who isn’t placing in his races.

I personally would geld him to see if it would help at all - also stick to cheaper allowance races where the competition should be easier. You could also switch him to SC, although I suspect that he’s probably about reached the end of his usefulness. Good luck and hopefully you can squeeze a few more wins out of him.