Dosage usage

I just went into the rabbit hole that is the dosage information on a horse’s hypothetical mating page. I’ve never used it before of even heard of it, so I’m intrigued to learn if it should have any effect on the way I play the game or if it’s just a fun, shiny stat that I can glance at every so often.

So I’m wondering: do you all use dosage for your breeding/racing plans at all? If so, how important and accurate do you find it? Do you use it in stallion selection? Or when you consider buying a horse?

Any insights that you are willing to share would be greatly appreciated!

To be perfectly honest, I’ve never noticed this dosage before so have no idea what it is supposed to indicate.

I would also be interested to know more about it.

Can’t say I totally understand it but this may help.

1 Like

I have definitely looked at in over the years for both breeding and selling determination and have found that high numbers do seem to have an effect.

However, the trick here is it’s all based on crosses that have previously occurred and performed in the game. If a cross hasn’t been done before AND performed enough to register a statistic, then numbers are automatically going to be low because there’s limited data. Similarly, created horses have no pedigree to contribute to the dosage calculations. For instance, my horse Awwshescute is a MSW but because she’s by created parents her dosage is 0 across the board (system can only look at the foals of the direct sire/dam and how they specifically crossed with one another…which would have been just the subject horse). But if I look at 3rd/4th gen horses their numbers should be more reliable.

There are also back end numbers in the code that determine a horse’s performance so we never have the full info if a horse will be a champion or a dud. This is just a potential sneak peak indicator.