Hi, My name is Jerry Matlock ( my friends call me Mat) and I joined FF 12/6/09-05.I live in Suffolk County,LI,NY.Hence the name Suffolk Stables.I am completely new to this so I hope I don’t make too many stupid mistakes and get too many people p off at me. Any things you see me doing wrong please don’t hesitate to point them out .I want to learn and run an excellent stable.Someday I hope to give some of you a run for your money, however from what I see it won’t be easy. I think that’s one of the reasons that make it so much fun.I like to build and strive for the expertise to become adept at what I do.Along those lines I was wondering if Shanthi ever entertained the idea of incorporating into the mix - building up you stables by purchasing additional land,barns,etc.For example everyone or every newbie could be given a basic amt. of land and a small stable and as they improved they could buy more land,Foaling barns,etc.That way when you had a large operation people would know you earned it instead of just stating it on the forum.It might even make it easier to supply horses for races or whatever.I know I would like to earn a large operation.The one big draw back might be that it could be a codeing
Nightmare.Either way this is a great site.
Well that’s my 2 cents.
Thanks.
Mat

It wouldn’t be a coding nightmare really, and I think we talked about it some, but I believe we eventually decided to pretty much leave FF the way it is now and in theory things like that will be incorporated in the potential future TUHOS/To Horse game Shanthi’d like to make which would span every aspect of horses (racing, showing, breeding, etc).

The stables/land/foaling barns/etc thing is incorporated in a very basic/theoretical sense, with taxes. Taxes are ladder-based, so richer/larger stables pay more taxes, on the presumption that, “in real life”, they have more land, nicer facilities, more staff, etc., so it costs more per year to run the stable.